Massachusetts Laws Involving Motorcycles
If you’re riding a motorcycle in Massachusetts, you should be aware of Massachusetts laws involving motorcycles. First, you should wear a motorcycle helmet approved by DOT (Department of Transportation). You should also put on eye glasses or goggles, and a safeguarding face shield if there is no windshield to the motorcycle. Also, you should have a rider’s license handy at all times.
As aforementioned, every motorcycle passenger and rider in Massachusetts must wear head gear as per the motorcycle helmet laws of Massachusetts. The law requires that the helmet is in compliance with the state’s official standards for helmet safety. Helmets that are in compliance with the necessary standards would have a sticker on both their exteriors and interiors. Needless to say, the helmet must be fastened securely when riding so that it doesn’t come off while riding.
Tall handlebars are usually not ideal for motorcycle riding, especially if you’re riding long distance. It’s recommended the handlebars do not go above the shoulders of a rider while the rider is seated properly on the bike. A motorcycle should have correct safety gear, which includes proper lighting, rear-view mirrors, brakes, mufflers, fenders, and a secure and comfortable seat.
Massachusetts law indicates a motorbike should not exceed the 82 decibel noise level, which is calculated when the bike is moving at a 45mph or lesser speed. And the noise levels should not be more than 86 decibels when the motorcycle is moving at a speed of more than 45 miles an hour.
Moreover, Boston law states motorcycles’ exhaust pipes should come with an imprinted stamp that denotes compliance with pertinent rules.
Generally, stock exhaust pipes that come with street legal motorcycles bear such stamps.
To register a motorbike in the state of Massachusetts, you must not carry a motorcycle license. But to drive the bike, you certainly need a rider’s license. As far as motorcycle registration is concerned, you would require insurance proof, odometer disclosure statement, vehicle title, and registration fees payment copy. Also, the law requires motorcyclists to possess a liability insurance copy, which includes minimum limits of $40,000 per accident, $20,000 for bodily injury, and $5,000 for material or property damage. The registration fee is approximately $20 for a year. All these documents shall come in extremely handy when you’re embroiled in a motorcycle crash lawsuit.
Getting a Rider’s License
To obtain ‘class M’ license in Massachusetts, you should be 16.5 years or above. Also, you should have obtained a learner’s permit prior to having applied for the motorcycle license. The permit can be applied for at the age of 16.
To obtain the permit, you should complete the application form for the permit, furnish valid identification copies, clear a multiple-choice test, and remit a permit fee. In case you do not possess a ‘class D’ license already, you would have to clear both the class M and class D knowledge tests.
Prior to taking the tests, it would be quite handy to go through the motorcycle manual that shall familiarize you with traffic laws relevant to motorbikes in Massachusetts.
Kindly note, it would not be possible to convert the learner’s permit into a Massachusetts motorcycle license if your learner’s permit has not been in great standing for the last six months.