Tennessee has some of the best roads to drive on in the Southeast, but more heavily populated areas, like Nashville, are known for being hotspots for car accidents. Car crashes happen unexpectedly and can result in serious damage and injuries to all involved parties. If you have never been involved in a collision, you may be feeling scared and confused about what you should do next.
There are several laws involving auto accidents and personal injuries that may have an impact on your ability to recover compensation from the person or persons who are to blame for the cause of the accident. For this reason, we have described a couple of the most important TN laws surrounding car crashes below.
Make Sure You Have Auto Insurance
The state of Tennessee requires all motorists to carry auto insurance on their vehicles. However, the insurance company will only be obligated to pay claims up to the limits of the policy you purchased. The minimum auto insurance coverage required by the state includes:
- $15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $15,000 per accident in uninsured motorist property damage liability
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist bodily injury liability
The uninsured motorist coverage can be waived if you agree in writing, but it may be a good idea to keep this coverage if you are living in a city like Nashville. Adding comprehensive and collision as well could be to your benefit, and may also be required if you are financing your vehicle.
Contributory Fault in Car Accidents
Another law you will need to be aware of following a car crash is contributory fault. One Nashville car accident lawyer we reached out to said, “If we have a client who is seeking repayment from the liable party, but the client has partially caused the accident, they should expect their settlement award to reflect a contributory fault deduction as per the state’s comparative negligence laws.”
Basically, what they are saying is those who contributed to causing a crash can still file a claim with the insurance company, and in court, but the amount you’ll be awarded will be reduced based on your portion of shared fault.
These are just a few of the different laws that could impact your car accident claim, so it may be a good idea to consult with an attorney following a collision so that you have a better understanding of what you are getting into.